Waste Management of Western Macedonia S.A. (Greece)

DIADYMA is the official body for waste management in the Western Macedonia Region. Its main objective has been the design, implementation and operation of the Integrated Waste Management Plans (IWMPs) in the Western Macedonia Region (13 municipalities, ~300.000 residents, ~100.000 tons of MSW per year) in order to achieve the objectives of the National and EU legislation on waste management, with the lowest cost to the citizen. 


Main Role: 

DIADYMA will assist in data collection and evaluation and will collaborate with CERTH and CLUBE in the frame of the Greek LL, especially in the transportation and handling of FPR, mapping of food residues, and application of circular economy practices. Also, will use their existing role as the official waste management body in the region of the Greek LL, to develop stakeholders’ network. 


Involved persons: 

Periklis Kafasis, project manager 

Katerina Giannakoula, Environmental Expert 

The Consortium

  • Center for Research and Technology Hellas (Greece)
  • The Association Nationale des Industries Alimentaires (France)
  • University of Applied Sciences (Finland)
  • Soilfood OY (Finland)
  • Institut de Recerca i Tecnologia Agroalimentàries (Spain)
  • Università degli studi di Parma (Italy)
  • Assembly of European Regions producing Fruits, Vegetables and Ornamental Plants (France)
  • Leitat Technological Center (Spain)
  • SEDE Environment (France)
  • 3R-BioPhosphate Ltd. (Hungary)
  • Instituto Technologico del Embalaje, Transporte y Logistica(Spain)
  • Legacoop Agroalimentare (Italy)
  • WINGS ICT Solutions (Greece)
  • Wageningen University & Research (Netherlands)
  • Confagricoltura general Confederation of Italian Agriculture (Italy)
  • Biomasa Peninsular S.A (Spain)
  • Institute of soil Science and Plant Cultivation State Research Institute (Poland)
  • Cluster of Bioeconomy and Environment of Western Macedonia (Greece)
  • Waste Management of Western Macedonia S.A. (Greece)
  • KOTO d.o.o. (Slovenia)
  • Gesco Societa Cooperativa Agricola (Italy)
  • University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Bay Zoltan Nonprofit Ltd. for Applied Research (Hungary)
  • Savonia University of Applied Sciences (Finland)
  • Spanish National Research Council (Spain)
  • Science and Research Centre Koper (Slovenia)
  • Euroquality SAS (France)
  • Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (Switzerland)